The PPS was inaugurated in 1961 and until the 1980s, was known as the Private General Medical Practitioners Section of the Malayan Medical Association. This Section was formed at the request of Private Practitioners and Private Practitioner’s Association, and it is only open to MMA members.

This section represents views, interests and aspirations of members of the MMA in private practice, studies problems faced by private practitioners and recommend solutions to the MMA Council as well as encourage the active participation of private practitioners in activities related to healthcare and to assist them in adequately responding to changes.

The first AGM was attended by 13 members of the Malayan Medical Association. An Ad Hoc Committee chaired by Dr Tan Chee Khoon was appointed to draft rules and regulations. Dr P.T. Arasu, Dr C.J.V. Helliwell, Dr Chen Man Hin, Dr G.M. Das De, Dr Tow Siang Yew and Dr Yong Kok Kooi were also part of the committee. One of its first recommendations was to ask for a study for the possibility of insurance companies setting up a standard scale for medical examinations fees.

In 1970, the section lost its role in the MMA, but was revived again on 7th March 1987 as the Section of Private Practitioners (SECOPP). A Protem Committee chaired by Dr Anis Ahmad and Dr Tibbs Fernandez was formed. The Committee met on 28th June 1987 to produce its Terms of Reference. On 20th February 1991, the section was renamed as the Private Practitioners Section (PPSMMA)

Among some of the major issues that the PPSMMA has dealt with throughout the years are issues with SOCSO, advertising by private hospitals, touting and undercutting, HMOs, PPOs and the advent of corporate entities in healthcare delivery, drug control authority, dispensing and labelling.

Some of their achievements include a handbook for GPs, Medical Examinations of Heavy Vehicle Drivers, SOCSO, GP Kit and FOMEMA.

Click here to visit National PPS Website